This post isn’t about Richard Gere, finally.

As some of you may or may not know, Portland is a small city (in the otherwise mostly creepy state of Oregon) that has an absurd amount of really wonderful local music. In addition to serving as the acquired hometown of some bands that have had great commercial success (The Decemberists, The Jicks, Sleater-Kinney, Modest Mouse); it is also home to myriad brilliant, yet relatively unknown musical acts. Acts that would undoubtedly blow your fucking face off if you moved to Portland and got to see them play very loudly in small clubs. But since that is unlikely to happen for many people, I would like to do my part in raising the general awareness of Portland’s beautiful music scene.

For one example, I’d like to draw your attention to a youtube channel I recently discovered:
The Penny Jam

I don’t know what their deal is, as I haven’t had time to contact the person in charge. But it seems like they are doing a bunch of guerilla recordings (playing in hair salons, hotel lobbies, carpet stores, rooftops, where-ever) with many of Portland’s great local musicians. My favorite video they’ve uploaded thus far is a live performance by Dykeritz. Which happens to be my one of the greatest bands I’ve ever heard in my life, however offensively underrated they may be.

Here, watch:

But yes, you should definitely check out Penny Jam’s user page for more great performance videos by Reporter, Loch Lomond, Starfucker, Panther, The Dimes, Laura Gibson, Boy Eats Drum Machine, and an eclectic host of other fantastic makers of music.

As is easy to figure out, I’m new to blogging. But I am enjoying it. And so as I continue, I’d like to grow into having some semi-regular topics to focus on. One of which will certainly the music and art of Portland, Oregon. Stay tuned, yes? Okay, great.

About R. Spacely

Bastard.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say something brilliant.

