Okay, so what the shit is Twitter?

I’m not that old. But I’m old enough to remember CompuServe, and I’m old enough to remember life before the Internet. However, I do my best to stay somewhat up-to-date on things. But Twitter is something that has managed to escape my curiosity radar. I agreed with Conan O’Brien that it seems pretty useless, and I enjoyed the holy crap out of his “Twitter Tracker” segment on The Tonight Show (before it was ripped away from him by that relentlessly unfunny Jay Leno douchebag). But beyond that, I’m just lost.

It’s a thing, right? Where you post tiny updates all day, and people virtually follow you around and live vicariously through whatever it is you’re “tweeting?” Or is it called twitting? Twatting? I genuinely don’t know.

I ask because I’m poking around my WordPress account a little while ago. The stats thing. And it says I’ve gotten a few hits from Twitter. But I don’t understand how or why because I’m not on that site. But as I was saying the other night, when I admitted I’ve been pathetically researching “how to be a better blogger” and stuff, well yeah I was saying “I’d like to be a better blogger.” Ummm…

So is Twitter something I should be doing? Or is it as retarded as I assume it is? How am I getting traffic from there without being signed up? And do people actually think Jay Leno is worthy of laughter? I need someone to clarify some of this stuff for me. THESE ARE BIG QUESTIONS AND THEY ARE OF GREAT IMPORT!! So yeah. What’s the deal?

About R. Spacely

Bastard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Okay, so what the shit is Twitter?

  1. Lisa says:

    i’m trying to figure out how to put my twitter account on my wordpress, so I can pretend people read my tweets (I will then be super fabulous).
    But Twitter is kinda fun. You can read what celebrities are saying and once in a new moon they might answer you back if you tweet them, …FUN!

  2. vodkabeforenoon says:

    Well…I twitter one of your articles because I liked it. So that might be where the feed is coming from.

    Conan O’Brien has a twitter account. I watch his feed.

    I like to twitter incoherent nonsense about love and people I wish loved me. Or stuff I read and discover online. My twitter is also linked to notify people when I post on daily booth or make a wordpress entry. It keeps people up to date without them having to check my blog everyday.

  3. Okay then. I suppose it’s all starting to make a little more sense.

    So is it wise for me to sign up?

    • Lisa says:

      Couldn’t hurt. Also you can find trending topics and say your piece on it. If you don’t dig it, you can cancel. It’s sorta fun.

  4. Flowervalley says:

    Can’t help you with the Jay Leno question. But Twitter, well it’s a bit like my digital, grown-up rec room. It felt totally useless for a year or so, but I hung in there and did a few “tweets” now and then, followed some friends. Then suddenly, I just got it. I found my Twitter frequency I guess, connecting with people through common contacts and interests, both socially and professionally. Now that I’m starting my own business it’s an important part of my networking.

    Hmm, that just started to sound kind of booooring. But really, I can speak pretty freely on Twitter. It’s about personal branding, and my brand isn’t completely kosher I guess…but that’s ok!

    If you want to give it a try, be patient and curious. Tweet, follow, interact by retweeting (forwarding) and responding to other tweeple’s interesting tweets.

    Good luck and happy tweeting. /Anna a k a Flowervalley

    • Stir-Fry says:

      Yeah, see… I don’t know exactly what “personal branding” means. And if whatever vague idea I do have is correct, then I’m not sure I could ever do that to myself. That means “I have no idea who I am, not really sure that I even want to know, and even if I did I’m not sure I’d feel like defining it for other people?” But again, I’m probably way off on the entire concept of personal branding.

      I haven’t signed up yet, but I probably will next time I get drunk.

  5. Flowervalley says:

    Haha, yeah I see what you mean. I think. You’re not “way off”. It CAN really be a corporate BS word, but I just think of it as having integrity. Being true to myself. “Doing that to myself” sounds like turning yourself into something you’re not, fitting yourself into a neat little box. One second I’ll tweet a serious work question, and the next I’ll tweet something completely inappropriate that might piss people off, while others will love it.

    If someone’s offended, they’ll either confront me or unfollow me. Either way’s fine by me. It’s not about defining myself, it’s about being myself. Whatever that is.

    • Dude, I hope what I said didn’t piss you off. It wasn’t meant to be accusatory or anything. I’m just a bit lost in the struggle to understand the technology and the terminology. I think I get inappropriately stuck on the word “brand” because I inevitably associate it with either sticking a hot piece of iron into my buttcheek to make a cutesy design, or like… Nike: the brand.
      I’m also a person who has completely given up on understanding myself. It’s been 28 years and I’m finally admitting to myself that I’m just too fucking weird and my interests and viewpoints are just too expansive and contradictory. So the idea of being myself is either completely foreign to me, or it’s the only thing I know how to do without doing anything at all.
      Shit. This is all getting too confusing.

      And yeah, Lisa. I don’t know. WordPress is going schizo on my end too. In fact, I don’t know if this comment is really even here at all. Spooooooky!

    • Stir-Fried says:

      Dude, I hope what I said didn’t piss you off. It wasn’t meant to be accusatory or anything. I’m just a bit lost in the struggle to understand the technology and the terminology. I think I get inappropriately stuck on the word “brand” because I inevitably associate it with either sticking a hot piece of iron into my buttcheek to make a cutesy design, or like… Nike: the brand.
      I’m also a person who has completely given up on understanding myself. It’s been 28 years and I’m finally admitting to myself that I’m just too fucking weird and my interests and viewpoints are just too expansive and contradictory. So the idea of being myself is either completely foreign to me, or it’s the only thing I know how to do without doing anything at all.
      Shit. This is all getting too confusing.

      And yeah, Lisa. I don’t know. WordPress is going schizo on my end too. In fact, I don’t know if this comment is really even here at all. Spooooooky!

      • Flowervalley says:

        Nope. Not pissed off. Rather enjoying the discussion. As for being yourself, I think you’re doing a pretty good job of it.

        Btw, if you ever do want to piss me off, try one or more of the following: 1) give me unsolicited advice 2) tell me to calm down 3) ignore me.

        That’ll do it.

        • Oh man, you’d have hated me 5 and 10 years ago. At one point, I was definitely the King of Numbers 1 and 2. But over the years, I’ve learned to keep my crazy to myself.

  6. Lisa says:

    So I now have my twitter feed on my blog. Now where the f is my about me page/

  7. Lisa says:

    Maybe my About Me is in an alternate universe, alas I can’t define myself anymore.

Say something brilliant.

