“That was a long time ago.”

So I’ve been thinking about time. I think it has to do with this blog writing expedition actually. Because there have been a few occasions now where I am about to write something, or post a video or a song or a whatever, and then I don’t. Because of time. Because we live in a no-attention-span culture and nobody seems to like things that aren’t new and trendy. This makes me angry, to be honest. Not ragey or anything, but yeah– I get a sad/angry feeling.
Anyway. I think I have to do what comes natural to me, and just do whatever I want. For instance, I’m sure nobody cares about this cover that Pavement did of Echo & The Bunnymen’s The Killing Moon because it was like 15 years ago, but I’m putting it here anyway:

I put it there because it’s fucking good. And I’m sorry that it didn’t happen yesterday, but that doesn’t negate the fact that it is a beautiful and underappreciated music recording.

My view of time, in regards to pop culture, is that there’s too much of everything and never enough of anything. You know, not all of us fell out of the womb and instantly fell in love with The Kinks. But those of us who simply don’t care about it because it’s not happening right now are simply foolish. I know, especially in hipster crowds ( though they dare not admit such things), that most people were lame in high school and listened to Alice In Chains or Biggie Smalls or The Bay City Rollers or something equally pervasive, whatever was big at the time. I didn’t find out about The Velvet Underground until I was 16 or something, but if someone didn’t say at that point “hey man, I want you to hear something. It’s kind of old but it’s really good, I think you’ll dig it,” well yeah. If someone didn’t say that, I’d still be missing out, right?

So I think basically I’m trying to say “fuck you” to myself. I’m an anxious dude, and I talk myself out of everything. But I’m thinking I need to just go with what I know. So here on this blog, you may find things that aren’t exactly up to date. But this post is to let you know that THAT’S OKAY BECAUSE TRULY GREAT THINGS ARE IMMORTAL. Really, they are. A lot of people miss things the first time around. And more often than not, there is no second time around.

And sometimes, we just aren’t ready for certain things when it hits us for the first time. For example: I went out and bought Doolittle by The Pixies when I was 12. And I really hated it. And so I’ve spent most of the last 15 years thinking, “Why do people care about this band so fucking much? They suck a lot.” Same thing happened to me with bands like Blind Melon and The Mountain Goats and The Boredoms and The Commodores, et cetera. But, lucky for me, there has always been a second time around. Waaah waaaaaah waaaaaaah! This is getting too wordy.

Moral of the story is this: Fuck you Rob (me). I do what I want! I do what I want!

So all you people out there in TV Land can expect a slew of seemingly random music and cartoons and just… whatever the fuck else I feel like feeding you. Yessir. that’s how it’s gonna be.

And this video is not new either, but it’s beautiful and it proves my point that time is irrelevant.

About R. Spacely

Bastard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “That was a long time ago.”

  1. Juliana says:

    i second it all. Sigur Ros was introduced to me and i hated him at first, only to fall in love later. on my own terms, i guess.
    but ummm… alice in chains is awesome :)

    • Oh, I take no issue with Alice in Chains. But I feel pity for the people who are unwilling to expand their horizons a little. There are at least a few good bands that have released records in the last 15 years…

Say something brilliant.

