Day Zero Project!!

I’m giving in. I’ve been seeing people talk about this idea for a while now, and I have to do it. It’s too tempting not to. In case you don’t know what it is, it is this:

“A unique challenge that inspires you to set and achieve your personal goals in life. The Challenge:Complete 101 preset tasks in a period of 1001 days.”

So. I love this. LOVE IT!! Because I’m a bastard who really doesn’t do that much, and I’m terrible at finishing what I start. And now there’s a website that holds on to my list and let’s me check things off as I do them. And there seems to be a whole community of people who are also doing it, and I believe everything is a bit easier when you have a support network behind you. And so far, I have 81 objects on my list because I thought it would be wise to leave space for 20 important things that may come up in the very near future.

I was going to put my list up here. But I think it will be more exciting if I just let you know what’s on the list as I complete the tasks. Good idea, yeah? Yes, it’s a fucking great idea!

About R. Spacely

Bastard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day Zero Project!!

  1. risha; says:

    I really do love the idea of 101 in 1001 days. I’m a lazy cow and quite often say things like, “Oh, it would be so cool to ….” and then never actually do it. I like that it’s so structured and has such clear-cut instructions on how to quantify your goal.

    Aww, go on; show us your list. I’d love to steal a few off yours! x

    • Robert says:

      I was trying to figure out how to copy it the non-stupid way and put it here… but I’m a failure! Umm yeah. I think mine is at http://dayzeroproject.com/user/heydinosaur

      And yes, I may have stolen one or two off of yours!

      • risha; says:

        http://infinitesummer.org/

        I LOVE David Foster Wallace and I am pretty much obsessed with tennis, in case you haven’t noticed.

        I’ve read Infinite Jest in bits and pieces over the years and I’ve also managed to lose my copy. But. Here’s the thing- want to be totally LAME and read Infinite Jest together? Maybe from August on?

        Feel free to shoot me down. ;) xxx

        • Robert says:

          Yeah, I’ve noticed the tennis thing but I didn’t want to pry or like… make fun of you for it. I actually like tennis, but mostly in a comedic way. So I just kept my mouth shut!

          Um. Yeah, I would aim to read Infinite Jest with you. That infinitesummer website is crazy. I had no idea people made such a big deal of this book. My only reason for not reading it is dyslexia. And, you know, being nuts and having no attention span. But yeah. You mean like read it on our own and then discuss it like homework or something? Because that could be fun, but I might start squirming if we get too structured about it. But yes. Something to discuss in the near future.

          • risha; says:

            Haha- you can tease me about my tennis obsession and how it pretty much runs my life.

            “Do you want to grab a drink tonight?”
            “Dunno, there’s tennis on.”

            Aaaand, end of conversation.

            Tennis a comedic way? How’s that then? *curious*

            And we could do that, but not necessarily as homework ;) xxx

  2. braeraye says:

    I would just like to say the first thing on my list I accomplished was leaving an inspirational note in a book. A book called Infinite Jest.

    If you both decide to read the whole thing, good luck. It’s worth it.

    • Robert says:

      Awww, this was nice to read. I’m gonna do it, definitely. And I think Miss Risha will too because she’s cool like that.

      Do you have any other good ideas for my day zero list? I need about 20 more things for my list, and I want some more weird things on there.

  3. Pingback: “Lucky numbers: 6 15 24 35 41 6″ | The Stir-Fried Dinosaur

  4. Griffith says:

    Still not posting your list? D’aww! I’m curious to what it is!

    Can you at least share the most interesting goal you’ve done with us, to help us inspire other people to come up with really awesome things? It’d be really kind of you if you could leave it in the comment section of http://worldwakeupcall.blogspot.com/2011/01/dayzeroproject.html so people can actually read it ^^
    Unless you want to keep it absolutely private, of course. But it’d be brilliant if you would :)

    – Griffith.

Say something brilliant.

