“Lucky numbers: 6 15 24 35 41 6”

So, I’m doing this Day Zero Project thingy. You know, the “101 in 1001” thing? Yeah. So I’m starting easy. But here’s an update.

I’ve already answered the “50 questions that will free your mind.” Either this list of questions is lending too much credit to itself… or my mind is already fairly free. I will admit though, that there were a few good ones that got me thinking. I’m now evaluating a couple of aspects of my life that I was not previously evaluating. We’ll have to see how this turns out.

On my list was “leave an inspirational note in a book for someone else to find.” I am not sure that I’m pompous enough to assume anything I say will be perceived as inspirational, but I left two notes in two different library books today. I hoped these notes would inspire travel, tolerance, and appreciation. Not sure though. However, I did realise how easy this was to do. Also, I found that it satisfied my need to be a sneaky bastard. I think I’ll make a habit of this.

Got me thinking. I’ve been an avid fan of Chinese take-out for most of my life. About 10 years ago, I started collecting the fortunes I’d get out of my fortune cookies. Then, about 4 years ago, my wallet went through the washer/dryer. In one fateful rinse-and-spin cycle, I lost 116 brave little fortune-cookie fortunes. (Yes, of course, I counted!) Today, I have 61 fortune-cookie fortunes in my wallet. The reason I’ve collected them: I love when somebody is having a day that needs a bit of inspiration. So I’m always able to look through my wallet, and find a (usually) perfect fortune to fit their situation. Or sometimes, it’s a lot of fun to pass one to somebody at a bar or at 7-11 or wherever, just to see the “what the fuck” expression roll across the faces of unsuspecting civilians.

Anyway, I’m thinking it may be fun to take my remaining fortunes and put them up in a bunch of good library books. I’m a person who is ruled by symbology. I’m always drawing conclusions and trying to see patterns in things. So what would happen if I learned to place the perfect fortune inside the perfect book? Perhaps people would take this “as a sign” or something… because I know that’s exactly what I would do.

No, this post doesn’t have to have a point. Just thinking aloud on the information superhighway. Perhaps I will get some comments about fortune-cookie fortunes, inspirational notes left in books, or maybe just an idea about patterns and/or all things symbolic. Or maybe people will tell me about the things they collect (I’d be really happy to hear about this)?!

About R. Spacely

Bastard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Lucky numbers: 6 15 24 35 41 6”

  1. risha; says:

    I collect train passes from cities I’ve visited. I collect flags, postcards, anything that’ll remind me of people or something I did.

    I seem to have built up quite a collection of phone SIM cards too: UAE, India, Thailand, Austria, Netherlands and Philippines. It’s a little ridiculous.

    I think the fortune cookie fortunes in your wallet is adorable. Quirky, but adorable. And putting them in seemingly appropriate books? Even better.

    • Robert says:

      I’m quirky?? Oh really, Miss SIM-card-and-train-pass Collector?

      • risha; says:

        Heyyyy… quirky is a good thing.
        Right?

        Right?

        (and the SIM cards? Total fluke. It wasn’t a deliberate thing.)

  2. peppers says:

    I love this, it is so creative. I love being a sneaky bastard too. I love how you actually saved so many fortunes and have them all in your wallet! I love I love I love hahaha I think I need a new phrase to spill out my appreciation for things! Ok I’m done creeping on your blog now. Later alligator.

    • Robert says:

      I got five more fortunes yesterday; the fortune cookies came from a place I had never eaten at before. And these specific fortunes are more like “inspirational slogans” for people who read from. Oprah’s Book Club… or something.

      “If you can imagine it, you can achieve it. If you can dream it, you can become it.” (Will plant this one in The Satanic Bible, if the library has it.)

      “Happiness is often a rebound from hard work.” (Can’t wait to hide this in a copy of Everybody Poops.)

  3. Pingback: My ex is being a dick. Wanna read about it? | The Stir-Fried Dinosaur

Say something brilliant.

