America, fuck yeah!

I saw a bumper sticker that said “My kid is defending your honor student’s freedom.” Which is obviously a play on “My kid is an honor student at [insert school name here].” But regardless, this bumper sticker made me furious.

1: Are you saying that it’s better to be in the military than it is to be working hard at school, possibly learning how to better the world of the future, so one day we may learn how to solve conflicts without guns and bombs?

2: When was the last time any American’s freedom was being threatened by anyone outside of our borders? I mean, really? I’ve got cops here to tell me I can’t be on the beach after sunset. I’ve got whiny neighbours to tell me the drums are too loud for a Sunday morning. Shit, I’ve got all types of financial institutions telling me one thing or another, nothing of which I can understand or relate to in the slightest. Really, I could make this point a thousand different ways; I’m very talented at pointing out what’s retarded about America. But… I don’t have time today. My point is this: I don’t have any brown-skinned folks telling me to do any damn thing. So, again, who is it that’s threatening our freedoms? And why are we still off in other countries killing innocent brown-skinned people?

It’s that time of year where people in suburbia are starting to put their American flags out to hang off of their porches. These people don’t vote and don’t protest, most of them don’t even read. But they sure stand for the Pledge of Allegiance. They still roast dead pig on the 4th of July. They still “support the troops” without thinking of all the atrocities committed in the name of freedom/jesus/whatever. And this is that season, the great American summer.

For me? This is taking-to-the-street-to-burn-flags-in-front-of-children season.

About R. Spacely

Bastard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say something brilliant.

