Mini-DinoMix #5!!

Okay kids, it’s been a while since I’ve shared a nice little mixtape for you. I assume very few people listen, but I suppose that’s never stopped me before.

I think I mentioned that I was a DJ for a few years, yes? Well, I had a weekly show called FREE SMOKE on Thee Portland Radio Authority. And I miss it. Anyway, I just want to take this opportunity to suggest everyone check that website out because the folks who run it have been doing great things for a long time now. PRA started as a pirate radio station, then got shut down by the FCC, and now has been broadcasting on the internet 24-hours per day for the last 5 or 6 years. VERY diverse programming, tons of great DJs. If you’re into discovering new music, or just enjoying the weird shit you’re already listening to, PRA is the place. I don’t plug an awful lot of things, but PRA deserves it.

ANYWAY, yes. I think I miss having a weekly excuse to share good tunes with people, and so that’s why I make these mini mixtapes for you. I do hope you enjoy them, and it would be fabulous if some of you would let me know what you think (see comments section below).

Tonight’s mix is about fucking. No, not exactly. But I do think these are all very romantic songs. Because, for those of us in the Northern hemisphere, it’s springtime and it’s damn near summertime. Which is the time of year when all the good shit starts growing. And yes, a lot of animals start fucking around now, don’t they? So here is this. No, not your typical “put this on in the background while grooving with my lover” mix. No Portishead will be found here. Partly because I hate being cheesy, but mostly because I like strangely sweet things (you should quite possibly put a little extra effort into preparing for the strange bits) much more than I like predictably raunchy things. So. Here are eight songs that remind me of cute little budding romances and stuff. Haha, I’m shutting up now. MUSIC!!

The Pixies – Hey

Death Cab For Cutie – Dream Scream (A Daniel Johnston cover)

Sonic Youth – Self-Obsessed and Sexxee

Songs: Ohia – Lioness

Papa M. – Glad You’re Here With Me

Pinback – Loro

Animal Collective – The Softest Voice

Morphine – The Night

And here is a mediafire link, in case you wish to download.
And the 4 other Mini-DinoMixes can be found HERE.

And yes, feel free to leave some words of encouragement.

Bye.

About R. Spacely

Bastard.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mini-DinoMix #5!!

  1. risha; says:

    So you know this is a fantastic mix, right?
    I just think it’s a shame noone commented.
    Come on people, quit lurking!

    • R. says:

      I’d love it if other people would say something good here. I spend a bit of time trying to make enjoyable mixes. But. I don’t know. Maybe it’s all for nothing? Whatever, I guess.

Say something brilliant.

