Bloggerstock: What is your theme song?

Hello Stir-Fried Dinosaur readers! I interrupt Rob’s regularly scheduled blog posts for the Bloggerstock question of the month: “What is your theme song?

But first, what is Bloggerstock? It is essentially a swap in ring form where everyone participating writes around the same topic. Instead of swapping posts with one partner, it is organized in a chain, where Heather’s post appears on my blog [check it out!], my post appears here, and Rob’s post appears on Mel Learns Her Lessons [read that too!], and so on and so forth.

Okay, now onward. “What is my theme song?

I could go on and on about not having one particular theme song since my life is ever evolving, and therefore, there would be a different song for every mood, every occasion. I could make up the excuse that I don’t really know very many songs and their lyrics. I could say so many things, but that wouldn’t answer the question. So here it is – I went ahead and picked this one:

While being notoriously indecisive, once in awhile, I act out of character. I picked a song – the song of the moment. Actually, several moments. I have loved it since the first time I heard it last year on a Libra Rising podcast. I won’t say that it came to me right away as an answer for the theme question. I went so far as to asking friends what they thought my theme song would be, and those answers didn’t seem to fit the bill. They weren’t quite me. It’s not to say that they weren’t great answers. They just weren’t the right one.

When I hear this song, it makes me feel energized. I want to get up and dance [aka arm-flailing and leg-stomping in the living room as if nobody is watching] because not only is that clearly in the lyrics of the song, but I love a good dance party, even if it’s in the privacy of my own home. The song also gets me thinking about living life in the moment. It starts off with:

You know who you are, so get on your feet now. What you waitin’ on?
Can’t turn back ’round. What are you waitin’, what are you waitin’ on?

The song is a call to action. What AM I waiting on? What is holding me back from living life? Nothing! The message that comes across is that there’s no better time than now to live life the way I want to. And later in the song, the same message:

The time is now. It’s yours for taking. What you waitin’ on?
Don’t speak. Get it on. What are you waitin’, what are you waitin’ on?

It reminds me to just LIVE and sets me in the mood for the next adventure.

It is what I will be humming to myself as we make the 13-hour drive to Bryce Canyon and what will be playing in the background as we stroll down the Strip or lay by the pool at our hotel in Las Vegas this long weekend.

I’m living, and that’s why I have picked this as my theme song: Stereo Flo. Thanks for reading!

About R. Spacely

Bastard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bloggerstock: What is your theme song?

  1. risha; says:

    I think that’s a really interesting take on the topic- for the music to be an active influencer rather than a more passive soundtrack to a memory or the tune playing out your life.

    It may be because I’m listening to them just now, but perhaps (for me, and off the top of my head) my “Go out and live” song rather than playing in the background would be Arcade Fire’s Wake Up… but perhaps the Where the Wild Things Are version rather than the Album version.

    Great take on the theme!

  2. Pingback: [Super Duper Fantastic] » Bloggerstock : What is your theme song?

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Bloggerstock: What is your theme song? | The Stir-Fried Dinosaur -- Topsy.com

  4. Pingback: Bloggerstock : What is your theme song? | [Super Duper Fantastic]

Say something brilliant.

