Run and hide! Run and hide! Hurry!

So when I started this blog, I was going to pass the weblink along to everyone I know. But then I got three posts in and realised that I don’t want my friends and family reading my bullshit. Because I am a weird dude, and I do my best to hide it most of the time. Not hide it exactly, but… I definitely downplay it. There are many things about myself that I don’t wish to reveal to friends and family, but I don’t mind sharing with complete strangers. Well… it’s all over.

My uncle John found my blog! I said, “Oh no! Now you have access to my insanity!” His reply was, “I’ve always had access to that.” I am scared, man. What am I going to do? Am I supposed to censor myself? Like… everytime I’m ready to write something terribly personal, or something very mean, or something a bit psychotic… what do I do?

So. I’m just going to say fuck it. I figure I’ve already freaked out most of everyone in my life, at one time or another, so it should be no surprise that I’m writing an internet blog that reflects my real-life personality. I assume I’ll eventually regret it, but I just posted the link to my blog on my facebook profile. Now anybody can look. Because if I’m going to dive into a pool of angry loved-ones and acquaintances, I’m diving into the deep end.

I’m nervous, and I assume this will end in tragedy that I will have to write about later on. But. Whatever. I’m a loner, Dottie… a rebel.

Does this shit happen to everyone who writes on the internet? How do folks deal with this?

About R. Spacely

Bastard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Run and hide! Run and hide! Hurry!

  1. courtneykane says:

    Just put it out there, man. You are who you are. Anyway, your friends may garner some new insights into who you are and why you do the things you do. That could be good, right?

    • Rob says:

      People always seem to stop talking to me when they figure out who or how I am. So. I do prefer to keep all the madness to myself as much as possible.

      It’s nice to think that some/most/all people I know will look at this and say, “Oh, who gives a flying rat’s ass?” and then proceed to never visit again.

      Probably better that way.

  2. Kris says:

    I’ve had a real balancing act with all this. Don’t let it change how you write. In the end non-bloggers usually don’t get it enough to keep up regularly anyway.

  3. Tom says:

    Up to now I’ve been pretty lucky and managed to keep my blog under wraps. To be honest, most of my family aren’t computer literate enough to find it. I’m more worried about people at work tracking it down.

    I wouldn’t say censor yourself though, because what’s the point of a blog if not to be honest and get things off your chest, things that maybe you can’t bring up in the real world?

  4. krystal says:

    I’ve had the hardest time with this and I just started a whole new blog because I didn’t want someone reading it. But then wished I hadn’t…because after so long, exactly, you are who you are.

  5. jaminicole says:

    Man. My entire family knows about my blog. And I mean my entire family, grandma, grandpa, aunts, uncles, great-aunts, etc.

    So occasionally I get really freaked out by what I’m posting, but at the same time…they know I’m a 20 something who’s rather independent and likely to not give a shit what they think, so we’re all good.

    Actually, my family loves my blog. They frequently discuss it at family gatherings, which I think is hilarious.

    Well good luck with that, then. I mean, it could be worse, if you think about it.

    • Rob says:

      Yeah… but you seem to be relatively kind and sane and, you know, not at all evil? So I don’t know. Maybe I’m just overreacting though. Whatever. I’m pretty much over it already.

  6. John says:

    I did’nt realize the upheaval I could cause just by reading this. I think and have always thought you had an insightful and amusing mind and could actually enjoy seeing this side of you in print. I now feel like the parent who opened the locked diary found under the bed and apologize. Wow, too many words with Z in them….anyway….keep going… I’m out…no hard feelings…I still support you

    • Rob says:

      Awww, shucks! No, it’s fine really. I mean, it’s a public blog. I was just surprised, but I’m good now.

      And thank you. “Insightful and amusing mind.” That’s very, very nice of you.

Say something brilliant.

