The truth about raisins.

I’m eating some right now. Here’s what the box says:

Raisins and dried fruits are completely natural foods, the perfect companions to healthier living. Raisins are a high-energy food, providing natural sugars, potassium, and the fiber and tartaric acid necessary to keep digestive systems healthy. Plus, they are the most concentrated, commonly available fruit source for baking, quick additions to other food items, and snacking.

Just 1/4 cup of raisins (1.5 oz) equals one complete fruit serving.

Recent health findings:

– Adolescent soccer players who ate raisins during game breaks in a study showed significantly higher blood sugar levels at the end of the game.

– Compared to other common snacks, raisins did not trigger the “let down” or low energy response found a few hours later with the other snacks, among people tested.

– Potassium, a key nutrient in raisins, may help reduce the risk of stroke, lower blood pressure, reduce risk of arrhythmias, and prevent some type of kidney disease.

– Adding just 3 ounces of raisins daily to the diet may prevent constipation and protect against some colon diseases.

About R. Spacely

Bastard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The truth about raisins.

  1. Lacey says:

    haha so funny: this is my first time to your blog and I am eating raisins. Right now. That is all very interesting information. It inspired me to read my own raisin box.
    Here’s what my raisin box says:
    “Home is where you get to do the dishes.”
    No joke. I think my raisin box dreams of being a crappy fortune cookie.

    • Rob says:

      I hate to say this but umm… your raisin box is my raisin box’s bitch. I’m sorry.

      On the bright side, however…. Welcome to my retarded little blog. I’m gonna go check yours out in a second, mostly because you have a very strange title.

      • Lacey says:

        oh, man. My raisin box is definitely your raisin box’s bitch. I’m so ashamed. Thanks for the welcome tho! And strange blog titles are where it’s at.

Say something brilliant.

