Cat and Mouse

Last week, I mentioned my thrift store extravaganza. I told you I bought a half dozen of these old-ass paranormal magazines called “Man, Myth & Magic,” remember? Well. Today, I’m reading all about cats. It’s the issue that has a picture of a taxidermied cat wedding… YEAH, BUDDY. Wait. Here’s a photo of the cover!

Also, I’m probably gonna make a big ugly art project out of these magazines. Anyway. I came across a passage that I wanted to share with the class. Just so you know where cats really come from. Because. I had no idea. So. This is the part I just read:

Cats and mice are often associated in legends concerned with the beginning of the world. According to one legend, not only did rodents precede cats but their existence was the reason for the cat’s creation. At the time of the Flood, we are told, there were no cats. Noah (showing, one would have thought, extraordinary lack of foresight) took pairs of rats and mice into the Ark, with the result that it was soon over-run with vermin. Noah asked the lion, as king of the beasts, to do something about the situation. The lion sneezed, and from his nostrils appeared a pair of cats, which soon reduced the rodent population.
It has also been said that God created the cat, but that the mouse was Satan’s creation; and the Devil’s mouse did its best to destroy life once and for all by nibbling a hole in Noah’s Ark. Fortunately it was caught by God’s cat, and the hole was closed by a frog who crept into it.

The next issue I’m reading is about Drugs (and “Dragons” and “Dreams” and “Drama,” no, seriously these are what the articles are entitled in the next issue). Here’s a picture of the cover.

DON’T YOU WISH YOUR LOCAL THRIFT STORE CARRIED THIS MAGAZINE SERIES?? I am feeling like the luckiest boy in the whole wide world.

About R. Spacely

Bastard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cat and Mouse

  1. Tom says:

    I do wish that, wholeheartedly.

    I can’t help but feel sorry for the frog mind you.

  2. Heather says:

    Those are real kittens? Stuffed? Gross.

    P.S. I always knew that my cat was actually made from lion snot. Explains so much!

Say something brilliant.

