Playing pianos filled with flames…

I am listening to one of my favorite records ever, for the first time in months. It is called In The Aeroplane Over The Sea. It was made by a band called Neutral Milk Hotel in 1998. Now. It has come to my attention that some people have never heard this band or this record. Well, I am going to save some of you. From peril and shame and stuff. Basically, this is one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever heard. And if you’re maybe a little emotional or weird or interested in death and magic (like I am sure plenty of you must be if you read my weird shit…), then there’s a good chance that this record will REALLY change your life. If it hasn’t already.

I’ve been thinking about it for a couple days because I have decided that I no longer have songwriter’s block. So I’m trying to put myself in a headspace of “oh my fucking GOODNESS, songwriting can be an amazing thing when done with the right kind of imagination!!” And so I have been listening to The Mountain Goats a lot. And today, Neutral Milk.

[**EDIT/UPDATE** 20 hours later, I’m thinking I should clarify a couple of things. ONE: Neutral Milk Hotel’s music can be best described (by me) as experimental and melodic fuzz-folk, interspersed with dissonance and a few avant-garde sound collages. It is pop music at its core, but it’s REALLY far out… in case you were wondering. TWO: Another reason for my putting this album on my blog is because I think I’d like to attract people who generally go for this sort of thing. I believe fans of Neutral Milk Hotel may “get” me a little, and maybe that would be good for the blog. Weirdo seeking weirdoes, et cetera? Okay, that is all for my update.]

Anyway. I’m going to give you a mediafire link to go and download In The Aeroplane Over The Sea, because I think you deserve to have something beautiful enrich your life today. I will say this though. You can download this album and listen to it religiously. BUT. If you love this album, please go over to the MERGE RECORDS WEBSITE to buy the 180-gram VINYL REISSUE or get it on COMPACT DISC. Some bands don’t need anymore money, and I understand the urge to be a fucking pirate. But. Neutral Milk Hotel albums should be bought, because they are amazing. I have turned a few people on to this band, and they were very VERY thankful and happy, and they were nice people who went out and bought their own copies. Okay?

Anyway. Enough guilt, yes? So. I will shut up. Here is a picture of the album, and then will follow the Mediafire link (someone else’s link, but it works, I checked) to download this album.


Neutral Milk Hotel’s In The Aeroplane Over The Sea

About R. Spacely

Bastard.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Playing pianos filled with flames…

  1. risha; says:

    One of my all time favourite albums, and bands.

    Someday, I’m going to sit you down and get you to talk to me about music. x

    • Sounds like a plan! Especially if there’s whiskey involved.

      And I’m never surprised when you turn out to have brilliant taste in things. You are good.

  2. this is pretty far out because i also rediscovered my love of that record last week! amazing. i am pumped to hear your stuff rob! :)

Say something brilliant.

