Disappear Here.

So I read Imperial Bedrooms today. Because I finally decided to read Less Than Zero recently. I think I’m probably a fan of Bret Easton Ellis now. I still want to read Rules of Attraction because I’ve seen the movie a bunch of times and really liked it. Same goes for American Psycho. Why does everyone always want to make movies out of this poor guy’s books?

Anyway, Imperial Bedrooms was pretty great. I know it’s short, but even still… for me to read 170 pages without blinking? Mister Ellis has achieved something amazing, even though he’ll never realise it. I’ve only read that much in one day on one other occasion, when I was reading Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close.

I’ve pretty much destroyed my dyslexia. I mean, I have pushed through it. My reading is getting faster, my comprehension is like… working. And I’m feeling good about it. I never really read books when I was young because it was really hard for me to concentrate, and the words were always jumping around the page on me. I don’t think this is happening too much anymore. And when it does, I find it easy enough to just reread a couple of lines and move on. Cool.

But yeah. The depravity of this book was fun. The last ten pages totally through me out of my chair and stomped on my chest with heavy boots. I like when people aren’t afraid to embrace the evil inside. I figure, even if it’s all fiction, it all starts with a thought. And so I appreciate the courage it takes to communicate that thought to the world outside. And now I’m inspired to write a book about buying teenage fuck-slaves, and the scatty torture that inevitably ensues. I like entertaining bad thoughts, I find it relieving. I’d never kill anyone, but thinking about it can be a lot of fun.

So now I’m gonna go reread Slaughterhouse Five and see if I don’t hate it this time, now that I’m not 12 years old anymore.

About R. Spacely

Bastard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Disappear Here.

  1. Amber says:

    Less Than Zero is a good book. My only criticism is that everyone is described as “tan” and I wasn’t sure if that was supposed to be humorous or if Ellis, who was pretty young when he wrote it, hadn’t learned many adjectives. Rules of Attraction was better in my opinion. I read it after Less Than Zero and was able to see how much Ellis had grown as a writer. The format is very cool. I liked the movie adaptation, mostly because I have a massive girl crush on Shannyn Sossamon.

    One interesting thing about those early books is that there’s some crossover. (Which you may already know about.) Clay from Less Than Zero is in Rules of Attraction and Sean Bateman, one of the characters in Rules of Attraction is the younger brother of Patrick Bateman from American Psycho.

    Please reread Slaughterhouse-Five. It’s one of my favorite books. It’s brilliant.

    • I have a massive boycrush on Shannyn Sossamon!! For years and years now. Awesome.

      Figured the “tan” thing was just a device for saying how everyone was the same. Predictable. Los Angeles. Et cetera. But yeah, maybe he just didn’t know what else to say. But he did use that word a lot in Imperial Bedrooms as well, so I don’t know.

      So wait. Clay goes back to his school in New Hampshire or whatever, and that’s where Rules of Attraction happens? And I’d heard the Bateman connection before, yes. I like that though. Anyway, yeah, his books are good enough to make me want to read more of them. So. I will.

      And I just read the first forty-something pages of Slaughterhouse Five again. I like the way Vonnegut writes, but I’m not sure how I feel about the story yet. But I am, at least, finding a few paragraphs that are making me laugh enough. I’ll finish it this time, with an open mind. I’ll be sure to let you know how it goes.

Say something brilliant.

