“Why the fuck are you reading?”

I was laughing/crying about this to myself all day today. At work, sitting on a bench outside, reading a book, smoking a cigarette, on my lunch break. So. This doofy (no, like borderline ‘tarded, something is wrong with him, no jokes) kid I work with, he walks up to acknowledge my book, “Aww, is that a book? You’re gay.” I said something back along the lines of, “Should I be out playing football and defending my country instead?” Monkey boy is puzzled, finally says, “Why the fuck would you read if you’re not in school?” I felt like such a lame dick after the following mind-bogglingly original retort:”You will understand when you’re older…”

Hi. My name’s Rob and I am a wise old sage. A kitschy prophet.

But anyway, I was really struck by the sensory explosion my brain felt, I mean the sheer force of this kid’s willful ignorance, I literally FELT it, like… the air got weird for a second. It immediately made me think of this:

Love Bill Hicks. And yeah, so that was kinda hilarious/tragic all day. But. I’m glad it happened. I mean my being asked such a bad question. Yeah, that. Glad/Weird.

About R. Spacely

Bastard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Why the fuck are you reading?”

  1. Ella Unread says:

    Damn that guy is valuable to our modern society :P

  2. Jen says:

    People like that amuse, and frustrate me at the same time. Hahaha. I have to admit, I’ve been in similar situations myself.

  3. I just say: “I’m sorry my literacy makes you uncomfortable.”

  4. zar says:

    boom chica wowow

Say something brilliant.

