Girl, that ain’t yo’ pizza.

I roll my pant legs up. My legs are pasty white, long dark hairs, but well-toned. Middle of July, feeling good to be back in Portland. The sky I’m sitting under, on the front porch, is crispy and hot and deliberate: the sun is trying to destroy me, cosmic population control. I am in love with that same diabolical sun.

Before, I was in Carol’s car, driving home up 15th, laughing to myself about Norman Fuckin’ Rockwell, watching all of the well-adjusted white folk: some looking cute on their bikes, some of them training in earnest for their would-be marathons and half-marathons, an array of colorful others walking slowly– looking up, smiles full of gratitude.

This is a beautiful day, and I’m thinking it’s going to be a beautiful night. It’s the start of PDX POP NOW! Always a good time, right? Whatever, I’m stoked. We’ll see what happens. For now, however, I have a few hours and a painfully empty belly to kill. Problem is, just a little while ago, I stopped by a friend’s house to buy a bag of weed. So now I’m way too stoney to be walking around in the middle of the day, trying to cop a chimichanga somewhere. Oh shit… Lonesome’s Pizza is on my speed-dial.

Think about this: Bacon, crispy sliced potatoes, walnuts, ricotta, mozzarella, and a healthy dose of fresh rosemary… on a fucking pizza. I am a stupid New York pizza snob, and I generally whine and moan about the pizza here in Portland. This one particular pie, the one I just described, from Lonesome’s… to me, it is a bit of heaven on earth. If they made one big enough, I would lay down and sleep naked on this pizza. Yep. I would do that. I’ve got to admit, if it were with the right woman, I would probably make sweet love on top of (or wrapped up like a sleeping bag in) this particular pizza. Then there could be a party, where everyone gets together and eats the sinned-in pizza afterwards, grinning and chortling and stuffing their faces. The guy on the phone says my food will be here in an hour. Can’t wait.

About R. Spacely

Bastard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Girl, that ain’t yo’ pizza.

  1. When you start your OkCupid profile, “I want to wrap up with you in a sleeping bag pizza” should probably be your opening line.

Say something brilliant.

